Thursday, May 31, 2012

H2O

"Drink plenty of water. When asked what you would like to drink, say, 'Water, please.'" -a line from "How to Be Perfect," by Ron Padgett
See individual post

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Top Notch

"To affect the quality of the day, that is the highest of arts. Every man is tasked to make his life, even in its details, worthy of the contemplation of his most elevated and critical hour." -Thoreau
See individual post

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Together Again

"And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer." -F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby


See individual post

Monday, May 28, 2012

Missouri Plane

A B-25 at Columbia's Memorial Day Airshow. Love the "Show-Me" on the side!


See individual post

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Rules

"Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here." -Neil Gaiman
See individual post

Friday, May 25, 2012

Memorial Day Weekend

Let the festivities begin!
See individual post

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

What's Left

"Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth." - Arthur Conan Doyle
See individual post

Monday, May 21, 2012

Do Scientists Pray?

"Scientists believe that every occurrence, including the affairs of human beings, is due to the laws of nature. Therefore a scientist cannot be inclined to believe that the course of events can be influenced by prayer, that is, by a supernaturally manifested wish." -excerpt from a letter by A. Einstein. The rest of his thoughts, however, kind of explain why there are so many churches in Los Alamos.
See individual post

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Peer Reviewed

"Part of what goes on with conferences now is, it's sort of lonely and scary out there, it's a way to sort of gather around the campfire and say 'We're all right. Aren't we? Are we okay? We're fine. We must be; we have badges on." -the NYT's David Carr in Page One: Inside The New York Times. At CRMA today.
See individual post

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Wasted

"Are you saying that I'm too drunk to hang out with you?" -some girl shouting to a guy as they left the Grand Tasting last night. One of many funny quotes from the evening.
See individual post

Friday, May 18, 2012

Large Print

From Saturday's Art in the Park in St. Louis. I want one.
See individual post

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Husband & Wife

"It does take quite a man to remain attractive and to be loved by a woman who has heard him snore, seen him unshaven, tended him while he was sick and washed his dirty underwear ... There is no greater happiness for a man than approaching a door at the end of the day knowing someone on the other side of that door is waiting for the sound of his footsteps ... P.S. You'll never get in trouble if you say 'I love you' at least once a day." -A letter from Ronald Regan to his son, Michael, days before Michael got married.
See individual post

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Not Equal To

Okay, so this says Bike to Work Day was last Thursday... but Columbia's Bike, Walk and Wheel Week is this week. Hooray!
See individual post

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Veg Out

"It'll be outstanding, but you might want to take along a pocket full of beef jerky." -my boss promotes the one restaurant offering a vegetarian menu during this weeks Wine & Food Festival.
See individual post

Monday, May 14, 2012

BWWW

"Most people who ride bicycles aren't fanatics about cycling." -from the new book Bike Tribes, quoted in my blog about Bike, Walk and Wheel Week (happening now!).
See individual post

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Cafe

Yes, I was drinking coffee when I stumbled across this. Mmm.


See individual post

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Friday, May 11, 2012

Office Life

"Sitting for long periods of time -- when you don't stand up, don't move at all -- tends to cause changes physiologically within your muscles...You stop breaking up fat in your bloodstream, you start getting accumulations of fat ... in your liver, your heart and your brain. You get sleepy. You gain weight. You basically are much less healthy than if you're moving." -NPR article quoting Gretchen Reynold's new book, The First 20 Minutes.
See individual post

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

2,520 Miles

"You need to take action." -nurse Helene Neville, about making changes to improve your life. Neville ran across the U.S. in 93 days. She spoke in Columbia last night.
See individual post

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Composure



See individual post

Monday, May 7, 2012

Running Long

"Oh, it's really like an empowerment. And zen at the same time. You feel strong and light, and you feel relaxed." -quote from an NPR article called "Wired to Run: Runner's High May Have Been Evolutionary Advantage."
See individual post

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Giddy Up


In honor of today's Kentucky Derby.

(Those are my interns at the end)
See individual post

Friday, May 4, 2012

Roll the Presses

"This is the time when newspapers have to rise to the occasion." -Joplin Globe editor Carol Stark


Saw Deadline In Disaster at the Missouri Theatre last night. Inspiring piece about journalism and community.
See individual post

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Washing Up

"My mother said she would not wash dishes to a blank wall." -quote from an 86-year-old woman who used to live in the home featured in the May issue of Inside Columbia (her mother installed a circular window above the kitchen sink in the early 1940s).
See individual post

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Pedaling



See individual post