Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Monday, July 30, 2012

Love First

"I don't want to live -- I want to love first, and live incidentally." -Zelda Fitzgerald
See individual post

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Saturday, July 28, 2012

The Moment

"I too shall lie in the dust when I am dead, but now let me win noble renown." -Achilles. Read more Olympics-inspired poetry at NPR.
See individual post

Friday, July 27, 2012

Brit Inspired

Olympics start today!
See individual post

Thursday, July 26, 2012

My Chariot of Fire

"Such men are immortal in their moments of glory, Aubrey thought. We need their memory to inspire us in our great race.
For after all life is a great race and what are we but runners." -last lines of Chariots of Fire, by W.J. Weatherby
See individual post

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Words



See individual post

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Happy



See individual post

Monday, July 23, 2012

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Little Things

"The slowest beauty can rush me. And here I am, all of my defenses down." -Ingrid Wendt
See individual post

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Bike Fuel

"Only in Iowa ... can a 500-mile bike ride help give you a spare tire." -a WSJ article about the culinary delights of RAGBRAI.
See individual post

Friday, July 20, 2012

Good Eats



See individual post

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Composing

"my novel is going noplace
absolutely noplace
like it dont even tell a story
it's about a million scenes long
an takes place on a billion scraps
of paper...certainly I cant make nothin out of
it."
-Bob Dylan
See individual post

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Risky Walkers

"I've been a law breaker twice today, and you are, too -- at least once." -an old lady and I scurry across Broadway while the "Don't Walk" sign flashes.
See individual post

Monday, July 16, 2012

What Goes Around

"Even if people don't actually believe in karma, they may still have an intuitive sense that good things happen to good people. If that intuition moves us to donate to a good cause and make us a little more optimistic in the meantime, that seems like a good thing." -UVA assistant professor Benjamin Converse, on his recent study Investing in Karma: When Wanting Promotes Helping


See individual post

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Friday, July 13, 2012

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Happy World

"May all beings everywhere be happy and free, and may the thoughts, words, and actions of my own life contribute in some way to that happiness and that freedom for all." -Sanskrit devotional mantra
See individual post

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Stubborn?

"Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will." -Mahatma Gandhi
See individual post

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Covenant

"If I am happy, will you give me an apple?
If I am anxious, you may twist my arm.
And if you would like to, I would like you to hole me
close to your heart forever and do me no harm." -Tennessee Williams
See individual post

Monday, July 9, 2012

Happy Monday

"Breakfast is a hedge against a lousy day. If you eat something delicious first thing in the morning, no matter what happens to you later on, you'll have had something to enjoy. " -Diana Shaw, The Essential Vegetarian Cookbook
See individual post

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Veg

"Nothing will benefit human health and the chance of survival for life on earth as much as the evolution of a vegetarian diet." -Albert Einstein
See individual post

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Friday, July 6, 2012

Undone

"I was struck (lightly) the other day by the following wonder: if lawyers become disbarred, and priests unfrocked, how might people in other paths of life be read out of their profession or calling? It occurred to me then that electricians get delighted, and musicians possibly denoted. If these assumptions are correct, surely it follows that cowboys must be deranged, that models are deposed, and judges are obviously distorted." -great letter by Marian Forer
See individual post

Thursday, July 5, 2012

A lot.



See individual post

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Do You Live in a City?

Click to enlarge.
Thanks, NPR!
See individual post

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Monday, July 2, 2012

Pressing On

"More than 2,000 people have now shown their support for the University of Missouri Press on that Facebook page, and more than 4,000 have signed an online petition to support the press. ... books published by scholarly presses like Missouri may not be well known, but that doesn't mean they're not important." -the University of Missouri Press closure debate makes it onto NPR Friday.
See individual post

Sunday, July 1, 2012