Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Happy Halloween!

1987; Falls Church, Va.
See individual post

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Monday, October 29, 2012

Guts

"Everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt." -Sylvia Plath


See individual post

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Freedom

"It's a treat being a runner, out in the world by yourself with not a soul to make you bad-tempered or tell you what to do." -writer Alan Sillitoe
See individual post

Friday, October 26, 2012

Baby Steps

"Every day do something that will inch you closer to a better tomorrow." - author Doug Firebaugh
See individual post

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Desire


See individual post

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Bitter

"Cynicism is often the shamefaced product of inexperience." -A.J.
See individual post

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Moon Shoes

"That's why you're doing so well -- you're wearing Hokas!" -random guy I passed during Sunday's Dogwood Canyon 50K
See individual post

Monday, October 22, 2012

Smiles

"She just lit up the room. Blondes do that sometimes." -our admin assistant about our potential future boss. Can't say I disagree with that :)
See individual post

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Even Keeled

"I haven't got any violent feelings about anything. I just love writing." -P.G. Wodehouse
See individual post

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Not Very Nice



See individual post

Friday, October 19, 2012

Early Eater

"Let's make this quick, you're interrupting my dinner." -a Pulitzer-Prize-winning author after answering my phone call ... at 4:30 p.m.
See individual post

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Branching Out

"Move out of your comfort zone. You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new." -author Brian Tracy
See individual post

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Monday, October 15, 2012

Moving

"Why be given a body if you have to keep it shut up in a case like a rare fiddle?" -Katherine Mansfield
See individual post

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Friday, October 12, 2012

Action

"Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Actions breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy." -author Dale Carnegie
See individual post

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Mind's Eye

"You never know what you'll want to write until it starts writing itself in your head." -Jill Ker Conway
See individual post

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Proactive

"Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do." -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


See individual post

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

USA



See individual post

Monday, October 8, 2012

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Books

"A book is like a man -- clever and dull, brave and cowardly, beautiful and ugly. For every flowering thought there will be a page like a wet and mangy mongrel, and for every looping flight a tap on the wing and a reminder that wax cannot hold the feathers firm too near the sun." -John Steinbeck
See individual post

Saturday, October 6, 2012

A Mess

"If you organize chaos, you organize as much as you can to show that it's chaos. It's the way I do it. To pretend it's not chaotic is a lie." -Irwin Shaw
See individual post

Friday, October 5, 2012

Informed

"Fifty percent of people won't vote, and fifty percent don't read newspapers. I hope it's the same fifty percent." -Gore Vidal
See individual post

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Going Back

"All things on earth point home in old October; sailors to sea, travellers to walls and fences, hunters to field and hollow and the long voice of the hounds, the love to the love he has forsaken." -Thomas Wolfe
See individual post

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Aware

"Manners are a sensitive awareness of the feelings of others. If you have that awareness, you have good manners, no matter what fork you use." -Emily Post
See individual post

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Amen

"I love a good wedding just as I love any part with an open bar and "The Electric Slide." But unless you are wealthy, come from a family that has never known strife, enjoy giving up an entire year of your life to planning, and can smile in the face of any possible wedding disaster (and mean it, not just for pictures), you should elope. That's because weddings -- even small-scale ones -- are more pageant than sincerity." -article on Slate.
See individual post

Monday, October 1, 2012

On the Road

As seen driving around Columbia.
See individual post