Thursday, February 28, 2013

Love

"First -- if you are in love -- that's a good thing -- that's about the best thing that can happen to anyone. Don't let anyone make it small or light to you.
Second -- There are several kinds of love. One is a selfish, mean, grasping, egotistical thing which uses love for self-importance. This is the ugly and crippling kind. The other is an outpouring of everything good in you -- of kindness and consideration and respect -- not only the social respect of manners but the greater respect which is recognition of another person as unique and valuable. The first kind can make you sick and small and weak but the second can release in you strength, and courage and goodness and even wisdom you didn't know you had." -John Steinbeck in a letter to his teenage son.
See individual post

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Cross Country

"...and the golden time in the West was one dream." -John Steinbeck
See individual post

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Remote

"The morning is the conscious time, but the afternoon is a time in which we should deal much more with the hinterland of the consciousness." -Anthony Burgess
See individual post

Monday, February 25, 2013

Late Night


See individual post

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Perception

"We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are." -Anais Nin
See individual post

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Friday, February 22, 2013

Summit

"It's easier to go down a hill than up it, but the view is much better at the top." -Henry Ward Beecher
See individual post

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Self

"Running is the classical road to self-consciousness, self-awareness, and self-reliance." -Noel Carroll, Irish middle distance runner
See individual post

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Happy Place

Maybe this explains why we eloped in Napa?!

(Also, go Santa Fe -- No. 4 most happy city!). Read the full article from The Atlantic here.



See individual post

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Monday, February 18, 2013

Presidents' Day

"It is wonderful how much may be done if we are always doing." -Thomas Jefferson
See individual post

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Distance

"I miss you even more than I could have believed; and I was prepared to miss you a good deal. So this letter is really just a squeal of pain. It is incredible how essential to me you have become." -Vita Sackville-West
See individual post

Saturday, February 16, 2013

A Rose

"For nothing this wide universe I call,
Save thou, my rose; in it thou art my all." -Shakespeare
See individual post

Friday, February 15, 2013

Read



See individual post

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Mind Over Body

"Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic." -Tim Noakes
See individual post

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Monday, February 11, 2013

Valentine

"The day you say 'I love you less,' will mark the end of my love and the last day of my life. If my heart were base enough to love without being loved in return I would tear it to pieces." -Napoleon Bonaparte to his love Josephine
See individual post

Sunday, February 10, 2013

A Modern-day Indiana Jones

"For a robbery, I thought it was pretty amiable." -just a day in the life of Maya researcher Dr. Ed Barnhart. Read the full Q&A here.
See individual post

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Pretty Much

Click to enlarge.
See individual post

Friday, February 8, 2013

Daffodils

"Certainly they must be the most exhibitionistic flowers there are / trumpeting their presence in yellow -- by far the most visible colour." -Gavin EwartD
See individual post

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Westward

"I like a destination which pulls
true, deliberate,
but at great distance."
-Bruce Willard
See individual post

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Need for Speed

"Faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death!" -credo of the shovel racer. Read my article here.
See individual post

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Uncomfortable

"I want to move people out of the suburbs of their mind." -John Callahan
See individual post

Monday, February 4, 2013

Beyond Self

"My own life isn't terribly interesting, even to myself, and that... [is] why I write about people and places so different from the ones I know." -Stewart O'Nan
See individual post

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Historical

"I always wanted to be historical, from almost a baby on, I felt that way about it." -Gertrude Stein
See individual post

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Missouri foal



The little baby Clydesdale was born right down the road in Boonville, Mo.
See individual post

Friday, February 1, 2013

This Side of Paradise

"January finally drags into February and one fumbles with numb fingers at the ordinary knots and hooks of life. People are irritable, difficult. Some days you want to stay in bed with the covers over your head and dream of paradise." -Louis Jenkins
See individual post